V Kerry Web

Kerry 1-15 Galway 2-11

Geaney Goal sinks Galway

A late Paul Geaney goal followed by Killian Spillane point gave the Kerry their first win in the 2020 Allianz League over a Galway side who at least deserved a share of the spoils at Austin Park Tralee on Saturday night, a crowd of over 11,000 witnessed a game of entertaining football served up by both sides.

A first goal from Johnny Heaney followed a Shane Walsh green flag after 58th looked to given the visitors full points from their opening two games but they failed to seal deal as the Kingdom pressure paid off

Kerry line out: Shane Ryan, Jason Foley, Gavin Crowley, Graham O'Sullivan, Paul Murphy, Shane Enright, Gavin White, Liam Kearney, Jack Barry, Gavin O'Brien, Micheal Burns 0-02, Stephen O’Brien 0-01, James O’Donoghue 0-02, David Clifford 0-06 (0-03f), Paul Geaney 1-02 (0-01f).

SubsDiarmuid O'Connor for G O'Brien (32), Tommy Walsh 0-01 for J Donoghue (ht), Dara Moynihan for M Burns (55), Killian Spillane 0-01 for Kearney (61)

Galway line outConnor Gleeson, Johnny Duane, Sean Mulkerrin, Johnny Heaney 1-00, Gary O’Donnell, John Daly, Cillian McDaid 0-01, Ronan Steede, Cein D’Arcy, Eamonn Brannigan 0-03, Damien Comer 0-02 (0-01m), Finnian Ó Laoi, Robert Finnerty, Shane Walsh 1-04 (0-02f), Michael Daly 0-01.

Subs: Sean Kelly for J Duane (22), Matthew Tierney for R Finnerty (ht), Tom Flynn for R Steede (42), Liam Costello for Finian Ó Laoí (48), Adrian Varley for M Daly (52)

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow)

V Limerick Web

Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Group A


By John Fallon at LIT Gaelic Grounds

Allianz League champions Limerick made it two wins from two when they defeated Galway in front of a crowd of 14,151 at LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Hopes by Galway manager Shane O’Neill for victory on return to his native county never looked materialising as Limerick held an edge throughout.

The sides were deadlocked four times in the opening half but Limerick, playing against the breeze, finished the opening half strongly to lead by 0-12 to 0-9 at the break.

They were the sharper side in the opening half and should have been much further ahead, but a failure to finish a couple of goal chances and seven wides to Galway’s three curtailed them.

All six Limerick forwards scored from play in the opening half with David Reidy leading the way, shooting 0-6, half of them from frees.

They led by 0-4 to 0-2 after nine minutes, but Galway rallied and a point from wing-back Aidan Harte and two from Joe Canning, one of them a free, edged the Tribesmen 0-5 to 0-4 in front.

Two more efforts from Reidy were responded to by Conor Whelan and a brace from Canning to lead by 0-8 to 0-6 ten minutes from the break.

Limerick then took over and landed the next six scores, with Seamus Flanagan’s effort flying over the bar after pressure by TJ Brennan to leave it 0-12 to 0-8 approaching the break but Canning gave Galway hope with his sixth point and second from play.

Limerick struck a telling blow a minute after the restart when a cross from Flanagan was fielded by Dempsey over Sean Loftus and he dispatched the ball into the bottom left corner of the net.

Galway responded with three points in a row from Canning, Shane Cooney and Whelan to cut the gap to a goal again after 45 minutes.

But Galway then suffered a big blow when Canning had to go off with a hand injury before Reidy and Conor Cooney swapped points.

The next three points came from Limerick as Gearoid Hegarty, sub Aaron Gillane and a superb effort from William O’Donoghue to lead by 1-16 to 0-13 with 12 minutes left.

Subs Sean Bleahane and Darren O’Connell then exchanged points but Galway couldn’t get the goal needed to stage a comeback and Limerick ran out convincing eight point winners.

Scorers for Limerick: David Reidy 0-7 (4fs), David Dempsey 1-1, Gearoid Hegarty 0-2, Tom Morrissey 0-2, Aaron Gillane 0-2 (1f),Declan Hannon 0-1, Seamus Flanagan 0-1, Graeme Mulcahy 0-1, William O’Donoghue 0-1, Darren O’Connell 0-1.

Scorers for Galway: Joe Canning 0-7 (5fs), Conor Whelan 0-2, Conor Cooney 0-1 (f), Shane Cooney 0-1, Aidan Harte 0-1, Sean Bleahane 0-1, Cathal Mannion 0-1.

LIMERICK: Nicky Quaid; Aaron Costello, Sean Finn, Richie English; Dan Morrissey, Declan Hannon, Barry Nash; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; David Reidy, Tom Morrissey, Gearoid Hegarty; David Dempsey, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy.

Subs: Cian Lynch for O’Donovan (blood 4-6), Tom Condon for English (half-time), Diarmaid Byrnes for Hannon (40), Aaron Gillane for Flanagan (54), Darren O’Connell for Dempsey (60), Brian Ryan for Reidy (65).

GALWAY: Eanna Murphy; Sean Loftus, Gearoid Morrissey, TJ Brennan; Padraic Mannion, Shane Cooney, Aidan Harte; Adrian Tuohey, Sean Linnane; Diarmuid Kilcommins, Cathal Mannion, Joe Canning; Jason Flynn, Conor Whelan, Brian Concannon.

Subs: Conor Cooney for Concannon (half-time), Sean Bleahane for Canning (47), Darragh Burke for Kilcommins (52), Paul Killeen for Loftus (54), Jack Grealish for Linnane (65).

REFEREE: Colm Lyons (Cork).

The following is the  Galway team to play Limerick on Sunday  in the Allianz Hurling League in Limerick

1. Eanna Murphy
2. Sean Loftus
3. Gearoid McInerney
4. TJ Brennan
5. Pádraic Mannion
6. Shane Cooney
7. Aidan Harte
8. Adrian Touhy
9. Sean Linnane
10. Diarmuid Kilcommins
11. Cathal Mannion
12. Joe Canning
13. Jason Flynn
14. Conor Whelan
15. Sean Bleahane

Hurling WEB Limerick



Firstly, a big thank you to the many thousand who turned out to support us last Sunday for our opening Allianz League match against Monaghan.

Every game in Division 1 is difficult so I’m delighted to have two points on the board. Monaghan are never easily beaten and they certainly provided a tough test for us as they always do. It was a very important victory for us but nothing is won in January. We still have plenty of work to do with two huge games coming up against Kerry in Tralee and Donegal in Letterkenny.

The beauty of Division 1 is your playing good teams every week. Later in February we will face Tyrone in Tuam and then away to Meath in Navan before two mouth-watering games at home to neighbours Mayo and All-Ireland Champions Dublin.

Over the past few months we’ve looked at a multitude of players from the four corners of the county. We now have a strong panel of footballers who are working tirelessly week in, week out and are hugely committed to the Galway jersey.

This of course is a hugely exciting time for everybody in Galway football and I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate Corofin in winning the 3-in-a-row and Oughterard in capturing the All-Ireland Intermediate title last Saturday. They are both wonderful achievements.

Next stop Tralee and another huge game for us against Kerry this Saturday. We look forward to seeing you there.


‘Our Journey, Your Journey’ 

Padraic Joyce


Latest Tweets

RT @_Caherlistrane_: There is a status yellow weather warning forecast for this morning & in light of restricted numbers being allowed indo…
🎥Senior Hurling Championship Round 2🎥 Live Streaming passes for the @TheBrooks_Group sponsored @Galway_GAA SHC Rou…
@ColmCormican Links to purchase streaming packages available tomorrow (Wed) will be published on website
RT @PodcastGalway: It's game week again in the @Galway_GAA Senior and Intermediate hurling championship's. Don't forget to watch out for…