Date:                   27th February 2020

Re:                     Galway V Cork Allianz Hurling League Round 5 at 2.00pm

A Chairde,

On behalf of Galway GAA and the Pearse Stadium Committee we welcome all GAA Supporters to Salthill on Sunday 1st March for theAllianz Hurling League Round 5 game.

  The Galway v Cork game throws in at 2.00pm.

The game on Sunday will result in increased traffic in the Galway, Salthill and Pearse Stadium areas and we urge all Supporters to arrive early, in order to avoid traffic congestion and potential delays entering the Stadium.

An Garda Síochana will implement a local area Traffic Management Plan and this will result in a number of access roads in the residential areas adjacent to Pearse Stadium being closed. It is important to note that only residents with Car Pass Permits and those with Official Car Park Passes will be allowed access to those Residential areas.

There are ample Car Parks in Galway City and Salthill and we encourage patrons to use these car parks and walk or take public transport to/from Salthill.

Car Parking facilities for Sundays Game will be available to patrons at St. Endas College, on Threadneedle Road, Salthill

Again, we ask all Supporters to arrive early, to park in the designated Car Parks and to park legally and responsibly, at all times. Designated Car Parks will be signposted.

Finally, we appeal to all Supporters to be conscious, mindful and respectful to the needs of our neighbours and local residents.

Please distribute and communicate this important notice to all your Clubs, Supporters and your

Local Media.

In Summary:

1.          Please ensure that you buy your ticket in advance!

2.          Please travel with care and arrive early!

2.          Please use designated Car Parks and park legally and responsibly.

3.          Please be respectful and mindful of the needs of Local Residents

4.          Enjoy the game


Thank You for your co-operation and your support.

Séamus Ó Gráda, Runaí, Coiste Chontae na Gaillimhe

The Galway team to play Meath on Sunday in the Allianz League is

1 Connor Gleeson
2 Sean Kelly
3 Sean Mulkerrin
4 Johnny Heaney
5 Liam Silke
6 John Daly
7 Cillian McDaid
8 Ronan Steede
9 Tom Flynn
10 Eamon Brannigan
11 Damien Comer
12 Michael Daly
13 Martin Farragher
14 Shane Walsh
15 Adrian Varley

1889252 web 1

Allianz Football League Division One


By Cian O’Connell at Tuam Stadium

Ultimately this turned into a deeply satisfying triumph for an evolving Galway outfit.

A third Allianz Football League win out of four was posted ensuring the locals skipped away loaded with encouragement.

For Tyrone, who finished with 13 players, it was a costly loss too with the early second half depature of Cathal McShane with a potentially serious leg injury another significant blow.

Galway, though, could reflect on a most rewarding afternoon in Tuam as a vibrant display earned a surprisingly emphatic victory. It was a remarkable shooting performance from Galway, who converted 2-25 from 34 shots.

The opening period confirmed that Pádraic Joyce’s approach is marrying substance with style in the west as Galway’s efficient attack shone.

From 16 scoring attempts Galway converted 12 which compared favourably with Tyrone’s return of six out of 16.

That level of craft was matched by admirable graft too with Galway forcing turnovers and Ronan Steede dashing through to land three sweet points from play before the break.

Damien Comer offered a sensible ball winner in the half forward line, while inside Rob Finnerty, Shane Walsh, and Adrian Varley all carried a threat.

Eamonn Brannigan and Michael Daly also registered points before the break for Galway, who held a commanding advantage at the turnaround.

Tyrone trailed by 0-9 to 0-4 when Kieran McGeary was red carded in the 29th minute for a challenge on Brannigan.

Walsh converted the resultant free and Finnerty subsequently added a delightful effort as Galway went seven clear.

Mickey Harte’s charges did hit two of the last three points prior to the interval, but Galway were content departing for the dressing room.

When the action recommenced Tyrone continued to battle clipping five of the first seven points narrowing the gap to three.

During that burst McShane unfortunately was stretchered off, but Tyrone found a way back into the reckoning.

Then Damien Comer was fouled by Liam Rafferty and from the resultant penalty Shane Walsh made the Tyrone net dance.

Suddenly Galway were back to their best moving the ball swiftly with Tyrone unable to cope against the dynamic home outfit.

Frank Burns was dismissed for a second yellow card offence for a foul on Walsh in the 59th minute as Galway dictated the agenda.

A second Galway goal was planted in the 62nd minute when impressive substitute Paul Conroy netted following a delicious Walsh assist.

That arrived during a burst of 2-8 without reply for Galway before Darren McCurry terminated an 18 minute search for a Tyrone score.

It merely sparked a further Galway flurry with Varley and Walsh kicking points reminiscent of their school days up the road at St Jarlath’s College. Something is stirring in the west again.

Scorers for Galway: Shane Walsh 1-8 (1-0 pen, 5fs), Paul Conroy 1-1, Eamonn Brannigan and Adrian Varley 0-4 each, Ronan Steede 0-3, Damien Comer and Michael Daly 0-2 each, Rob Finnerty 0-1.

Scorers for Tyrone: Darren McCurry 0-7 (6fs), Cathal McShane 0-2, Mark Bradley, Conor Meyler, and Niall Sludden 0-1 each.

GALWAY: Connor Gleeson; Seán Kelly, Seán Ó Maoilchiaráin, Johnny Heaney; Gary O’Donnell, Liam Silke, Cillian McDaid; Ronan Steede, Céin D’Arcy; Eamonn Brannigan, Damien Comer, Michael Daly; Rob Finnerty, Adrian Varley, Shane Walsh.

Subs: Tom Flynn for D’Arcy (26), Paul Conroy for Finnerty (48), Dessie Conneely for Daly (59), Conor Campbell for O’Donnell (62), Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh for McDaid (65).

TYRONE: Niall Morgan; Ronan McNamee, Niall Kelly, Rory Brennan; Tiernan McCann, Kieran McGeary, Liam Rafferty; Colm Cavanagh, Brian Kennedy; Frank Burns, Niall Sludden, Conor Meyler; Darren McCurry, Cathal McShane, Peter Harte.

Subs: Pádraig Hampsey for Cavanagh (HT), Michael McKernan for Kelly (HT), Mark Bradley for McShane (42), Ben McDonnell for Kennedy (53), Conal Grimes for McCann (64).

REFEREE: Conor Lane (Cork).

Web 2




Galway 1-12 Leitrim 0-2

Galway advance to Connacht U-20 Final

At Elphin this afternoon Galway beat Leitrim by 1-12 to 0-2 and advanced to meet Roscommon in Tuam Stadium on Saturday March 7th in the Connacht final, the winners were never tested and ten players made the scoring charts for the winners.

Cathal Sweeney was joint top scorer with three points as Matthew Cooley raised a green flag while other scores came from Matthew Tierney 0-2 and a point each from Alan Greene, Jack Glynn, Conor Rafftery, Ryan and Cian Monaghan, Paul Kelly and Eoin Mannion.

1552805 1

Cathal Sweeney 

Latest Tweets

RT @sportsfile: 📅 #OnThisDay in 2003 @Galway_GAA beat Mayo in the @ConnachtGAA SFC Final at Pearse Stadium. 🔗 htt…
RT @ConnachtGAA: 📺 Don't miss our live broadcast this Thurs at 18.30 on the Air Dome - the largest in the world! - at the Connacht GAA Cent…
RT @CoachingGalway: An bhfuil sibh réidh le haghaidh seachtaine eile de na #KelloggsGAACulCamps ar @Cula4_TG4 ? Déanaigí cinnte go gcasann…
RT @SportTG4: Bhí ról lárnach ag Declan Meehan i mbua cuimsitheach @Galway_GAA sa mbliain 2001 💪 The Meehan brothers are one of the most…
RT @CoachingGalway: Be a team player on and off the field. Take a look at the below resources. Check out the #GAA's FAQ section https://t.…