The Galway Minor hurling team to play Wexford in Croke park tomorrow is as follows

1-Michael Egan


3-Eoin Lawless

4-Adam Nolan

5-Enda Collins

6-Ian McGlynn

7-Christy Brennan

8-Liam Leen

9-Alex Connaire

10-Colm Cunningham

11-Sean McDonagh

12-Tiernan Killeen

13-Gavin Lee

14-Shane Morgan

15-Greg Thomas

The Galway Minor team to play Kildare on Saturday at 7.00 in Pearse Park Longford

1-Donie Halleran

2-Jonathan McGrath

3-Ruairí King

4-Liam Tevnan

5-Cian Hernon

6-Ethan Fiorentini

7-Kyle O’Neill

8-James McLaughlin

9-Daniel O Flaherty

10-Evan Nolan

11-Warren Seoige

12-Dylan Brady

13-Nathan Grainger

14-Tomo Culhane

15-Daniel Cox

Galway U-20 team to play Dublin on Saturday in Pearse Park Longford  at 5.00pm

1-Oran Burke

2-Ross Mahon

3-Sean Mulkerrin (Capt)

4-Eoin McFadden

5-Liam Boyle

6-Cian Potter

7-Jack Kirrane

8-Mathias Barrett

9-Brian Harlowe

10-Matthew Tierney

11-Darragh Silke

12-Tony Gill

13-Padraig Costello

14- Liam Costello

15-Rory Cunningham

Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Championship

GALWAY 1-24 CLARE 1-22

By David Connors at O'Moore Park

Galway’s pursuit to become the first county since Cork in 1969-’71 to capture three All-Ireland minor titles on the spin remains alive after overcoming a spirited Clare and dumping their neighbours out of the championship in the process.

Brian Hanley’s side came into the contest in the knowledge that provided they avoided defeat to the Banner by a five-point margin or less they would qualify for the semi-final stage of the competition.

While for Clare, a win simply wasn’t enough, it had to be six or more, but it was always going to be an uphill task against a highly-fancied Galway outfit.

Fergal Lynch’s charges mounted an exceptionally brave second half fightback but Galway powered back in the final quarter to run eventually out two points winners in what was an absorbing encounter.

Sean McDonagh’s 29th minute penalty goal separated the sides following an eventful first half.

Alex Connaire, a late change to the Galway side, opened the scoring but Clare sharpshooter Shane Meehan pointed two frees to give his side the early advantage.

In a nip and tuck opening half, efforts from Sean McDonagh (two), Colm Cunningham, Gavin Lee, and Enda Collins had stretched Galway’s advantage out to three points by the 16th minute.

Long-range points from Tony Butler, Cian Galvin (free) and braces from Oisin O’Donnell and Meehan had the gap back to one, however, with five minutes of the half remaining.

But a foul by Clare midfielder Conner Hegarty on Shane Morgan saw the referee award a penalty which Mountbellew-Moylough’s McDonagh dispatched to the ‘keeper Aaron Shanahan’s left leaving the scoreline at 1-11 to 0-11 at the break.

Clare’s half-back were utterly dominant under the Galway restarts in the second half and provided the platform to flip the contest on its head.

The revival in attack, led by Meehan and substitute Sean Ronan, who fired over two points with his first two touches, had Clare 0-19 to 1-15 to the good by the 45 minute.

But Clare lost defender Storm Devanney to a straight red card on the 50th minute leaving them with an uphill battle against a resurgent Galway who hit the opposition for nine points in the closing ten minutes to secure victory.

Galway substitute Sean O’Hanlon was in sublime form down the home stretch bisecting the posts four times from play and carrying the fight to Clare late on.

Clare captain Cian Galvin blasted home a leader’s goal to tie proceedings in injury time, but Galway supersubs O’Hanlon and Paddy Cummins hit the last two scores of the contest to secure the win.

This victory booked Galway’s place in the semi-finals where they’ll take on Wexford next weekend at Croke Park.

Scorers for Galway: Sean McDonagh 1-9 (1-0pen, 5fs, 265), Sean O’Hanlon 0-4, Alex Connaire 0-3, Greg Thomas 0-2, Gavin Lee, Colm Cunningham, Enda Collins, Tiernan Killeen, Liam Leen and Paddy Cummins 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: Shane Meehan 0-13 (9fs), Cian Galvin 1-1 (1f) Oisín O’Donnell, Seán Ronan 0-2 each, Tony Butler, Colm O’Meara, Diarmuid Cahill and Conner Hegarty 0-1 each.

GALWAY: Michael Egan; Eanna Davoren, Eoin Lawless, Adam Nolan; Enda Collins, Ian McGlynn, Christy Brennan; Liam Leen, Alex Connaire; Colm Cunningham, Sean McDonagh, Tiernan Killeen; Gavin Lee, Shane Morgan, Greg Thomas.

Subs: Luke Prendergast for Davoren (37), Sean O’Hanlon for Killeen (43), Colm Molloy for Lee (52), Paddy Cummins for Morgan (55), Oisín Slevin for Leen (60).

CLARE: Aaron Shanahan; Tony Butler, Adam Hogan, Storm Devanney; Jarlath Collins, Cian Galvin, Colm O’Meara; Conner Hegarty, Oisín Clune; Oisín O’Donnell, Diarmuid Cahill, Cormac Murphy; Shane Meehan, Dylan Downes, Cillian O’Connor.

Subs: Seán Ronan for Murphy (43), Shane Punch for Downes (50), Keith Smyth for Cahill (52)

REFEREE: Cathal McAllister (Cork).

Junior Team Copy WEb

Kerry retain Junior Title

KERRY 3-14 GALWAY 0-13

The Kingdom reached the magic 20 in junior titles after beating Galway for the second year in a row in the All-Ireland final at Portlaois on Saturday, the Tribes started in flying form with Gary Kelly scoring three on the bounce a couple of which could have been green flags, Kerry were slow to get into their stride in that opening quarter but as the half went on they pegged back Galway on five different times and went in leading by two at the break 0-8 to 0-6.

In part two Galway opened brighter with early points from Kelly and Sean Ó Currin but a fisted goal from Barry O’ Dwyer after thirty four minutes and when Stephen O’Sullivan repeated the dose six minutes later the game was over as a contest and Kerry had done the five in a row.

GALWAY: Cormac Haslam; Eddie O’Sullivan, Dara Ó Ruairc, Thomas Rabbitte; MacDara Geraghty, Conor Costello, Patrick O’Donnell; Alan Molloy, Enda Tierney; Sean Denvir, Jonathan Ryan, Thomas Gleeson; Padraig Éoin Ó Curraoin, Colm Brennan, Garry Kelly.

Subs: Seán Ó Currin for Tierney black card Lorcan Molloy for Gleeson ,Enda Concannon for Ó Ruairc, Connor Brady for Padraic Éoin Ó Curraoin Aongus Ó hIarnáin for Ó Currin Ger Gibbons for Ryan (

Galway scorers: Garry Kelly 0-8 Lorcan Molloy 0-2, Patrick O’Donnell, Seán Ó Currin and Sean Denvir 0-1 each

KERRY: Eoghan O’Brien; Cian Ó Murchú, Padraig O’Connor, Padraig Jackie O’Sullivan; Jack Brosnan, Mike Breen, Michael Foley; John Mark Foley, Nathan Breen; Phillip O’Connor, Chris Farley, Brandon Barrett; Stephen O’Sullivan, Daniel Daly, Barry O’ Dwyer.

Subs: Caolim Teahan for Farley James Crean for O ‘Dwyer Thomas Lynch for Barrett Gerald O’Sullivan for Daly Fionán Clifford for Ó Murchú John Spillane for Brosnan.

Scorers for Kerry: Stephen O’Sullivan 1-4, Barry O’ Dwyer and James Crean 1-0 each, Eoghan O’Brien 0-3) Daniel Daly 0-2, Jack Brosnan, Michael Foley, Caolim Teahan, Mike Breen and Thomas Lynch 0-1 each.

Latest Tweets

RT @CGarbally: Well done to our Junior Footballers🏐🏐 who defeated a strong Calisanctius College side in their first league outing of the ye…
RT @ConnachtGAA: Looking forward to the launch of the Connacht Scór Competition for 2020 at the Connacht GAA Centre tonight at 8PM, all wel…
RT @DamienColeman4: @ConnachtGAA @CoachingGalway @Galway_GAA #PlayerPathway child, youth, adult
RT @VirginMediaNews: SPORT: Former #Galway footballer Gary Sice has welcomed the appointment of Pádraic Joyce as the county’s senior footba…
RT @CoachingGalway: Great hurling match in Merlin College pitch v @AMCHALETUAM in Doughiska today. Well done to both sets of teams https:/…