Corofin in Club Final

AIB All Ireland Senior Club Football Championship Semi-Final


By Cian O'Connell at Cusack Park, Ennis

That this victory was achieved with the minimum of stress and fuss ensures Corofin enter another AIB All Ireland decider accompanied by hope and expectation.

Nemo Rangers battled until the bitter end, but there was never any hint of Corofin panic with the standard bearers demonstrating poise and power in Ennis.

Glimpses of Corofin’s abundant class were evident - Micheal Lundy’s first minute goal set the tone – but this win was about sheer hard graft.

Corofin repeatedly forced turnovers throughout the match and up front the Farragher brothers, Lundy, and Ian Burke were able to summon the grace notes.

At the opposite end of the field Liam Silke and Colin Brady restricted Luke Connolly and Paul Kerrigan. Renowned for their homework and comprehensive approach, Corofin were most certainly primed.

Nemo, scarred by the 2018 AIB All Ireland Club final defeat, knew the importance of delivering a good start so the concession of a goal after 33 seconds was a significant blow.

It was a trademark Corofin move with Martin Farragher’s inviting pass releasing Micheal Lundy, who supplied the finish.

Nemo were under duress with Corofin adding four points courtesy of Jason Leonard (45), Ronan Steede, Martin Farragher, and Gary Sice (free) stretching the advantage to seven by the 18th minute.

There was little wrong with Nemo’s attitude and application with the underdogs remaining spirited as Alan O’Donovan and Conor Horgan struck defiant points.

Still Kieran Molloy fisted over a point on the cusp of half-time ensuring Corofin’s interval cushion was a healthy 1-5 to 0-2.

When the action recommenced Nemo continued to perspire and did clip three of the first five points, but they never seriously cut into Corofin’s lead.

In that spell Connolly did wriggle clear to nail a sweet point from play, but it was merely a brief interruption.

Mike Farragher and Ian Burke responded with two splendid scores and that burst illustrated Corofin’s superiority.

Another trip to Croke Park beckons for Corofin.

Scorers for Corofin: Micheal Lundy 1-1, Ian Burke and Martin Farragher 0-2 each, Kieran Molloy, Ronan Steede, Mike Farragher, Jason Leonard (45) and Gary Sice (f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Nemo Rangers: Luke Connolly 0-2 (1f), Alan O’Donovan, Ciaran Dalton, Barry O’Driscoll, Kevin O’Donovan, and Conor Horgan 0-1 each.

COROFIN: Bernard Power; Kieran Fitzgerald, Cathal Silke, Liam Silke; Kieran Molloy, Colin Brady, Conor Cunningham; Daithi Burke, Ronan Steede; Mike Farragher, Gary Sice, Jason Leonard; Micheal Lundy, Martin Farragher, Ian Burke.

Subs: Dylan Wall for Lundy (49), Dylan McHugh for Cunningham (57), Gavin Burke for Brady (60), Darragh Silke for Sice (60), Ciaran McGrath for C Silke (60+3), Dylan Canney for Martin Farragher (60+3).

NEMO RANGERS: Micheal Aodh Martin; Kieran Histon, Aidan O’Reilly, Alan Cronin; Jack Horgan, Stephen Cronin, Kevin O’Donovan; Alan O’Donovan, James McDermott; Barry O’Driscoll, Paul Kerrigan, Colin O’Brien; Luke Connolly, Conor Horgan, Mark Cronin.

Subs: Kevin Fulignati for O’Brien (41), Ciaran Dalton for C Horgan (49), R Dalton for M Cronin (53).

REFEREE: Barry Cassidy (Derry).

Corofin WEB 2020

Latest Tweets

RT @SarsfieldsGAA: 10pm on a Sunday when the seniors from both @ClarinbridgeGaa and @SarsfieldsGAA would be done and resting after the week…
RT @CoachingGalway: Bealach iontach chun an t-am a mheilt #gaa
RT @SimonHarrisTD: We are entering a really crucial week in our efforts to #flattenthecurve & save lives. You are making progress & you hav…
RT @ClarinbridgeGaa: Hi all.. this is closing tomorrow morning so we can order nutrition or PPE to our frontline staff. Can we make it to 3…
RT @CoachingGalway: Remember to use an Age Appropriate size ball for your underage players: First Touch 🏐 6-8 yr olds Quick touch 🏐 8-10…