Dublin beat Galway in All-Ireland semi-final

Galway beaten by Dublin in All-Ireland Semi-Final


Sean Armstrong on the Ball

Dublin now aim for Four in a Row

Dublin 1-24 Galway 2-12

The Leinster champions had a comfortable win over Galway in the All-Ireland semi-final played in Croke Park today, the first half was very competitive and when Damien Comer punched a goal from a Ciaran Duggan long delivery against two defenders and it also caught Cluxton off his line, but the goalie made amends later when he got down to flick a Eamonn Branigan penalty out for a 45, Dublin hit back with three points from Ciaran Kilkenny, Brian Fenton and Dean Rock.

Ian Burke was in top form in that opening half scoring a point and also setting up a number of other scores, Shane Walsh pointed two late frees as Galway went in at the break two points down 1-7 to 1-9. In part two the winners bagged a brace of early points before Tom Flynn kicked a fine Galway point as Galway now trailed by three after 49 minutes 1-11 to 1-8. In the final quarter Dublin took control scoring six points without reply as Galway could not reproduce their first form and a late Shane Walsh goal took the bad look of the scoreboard as the Dubs march on and for Galway it was a disappointing end to a year that promised so much.

Dublin scorers: Con O’Callaghan 1-3, Dean Rock 0-5 (4f), Paul Mannion 0-4, Ciaran Kilkenny 0-3, Cormac Costello 0-3 (1f), Brian Fenton 0-2, Kevin McManamon 0-2, Brian Howard 0-1, Paul Flynn 0-1.

Galway scorers: Shane Walsh 1-5 (3f), Damien Comer 1-1, Ian Burke 0-2, Thomas Flynn 0-1, Johnny Heaney 0-1, Gary O’Donnell 0-1, Michael Daly 0-1.

DUBLIN team: Stephen Cluxton; Jonny Cooper, Philly McMahon, Eoin Murchan; John Small, Cian O’Sullivan, Jack McCaffrey; Brian Fenton, James McCarthy; Brian Howard, Ciaran Kilkenny, Niall Scully; Paul Mannion, Dean Rock, Con O’Callaghan. Subs: Michael Fitzsimons for Cian O’Sullivan (28), Cormac Costello for Niall Scully (44), Kevin McManamon for Dean Rock (56), Michael Darragh MacAuley for Eoin Murchan (58), Darren Daly for John Small (56), Paul Flynn for Jack McCaffrey (68)

GALWAY team: Ruairi Lavelle; Declan Kyne, Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh, Eoghan Kerin; Cathal Sweeney, Gareth Bradshaw, Johnny Heaney; Ciaran Duggan, Thomas Flynn; Shane Walsh, Sean Armstrong, Sean Kelly; Ian Burke, Damien Comer, Eamonn Brannigan. Subs: Michael Daly for Sean Armstrong (46), Peter Cooke for Eamonn Brannigan (50), Gary O’Donnell for Cathal Sweeney (56), Adrian Varley for Johnny Heaney (59), Kieran Molloy for Eoghan Kerin (66), Johnny Duane for Gareth Bradshaw (68)


Ian Burke in action

Latest Tweets

RT @ConnachtGAA: ๐Ÿ‹๏ธโ€โ™€๏ธExercise #11 โ–ถ๏ธBroad Jumpโ—€๏ธ ๐Ÿ’ฅ This is a plyometric exercise used for developing leg strength and explosive power!โ€ฆ
RT @GAAMareeOran: COVID -19 - perhaps help with shop deliveries for people within our community.. See for more. #Clโ€ฆ
RT @ClarinbridgeGaa: ๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡๐Ÿ‘‡
@ClarinbridgeGaa @gbayfm @SarsfieldsGAA ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
RT @ClarinbridgeGaa: see below John! thanks @gbayfm @SarsfieldsGAA trying to support our front line staff in our local community. https://tโ€ฆ