Allianz FL Div 1: Galway triumph over Roscommon

Allianz Football League Division One


By Cian O'Connell at Pearse Stadium

Considering the lengthy absentee list due to injuries and club commitments it has been a satisfying spring for Galway, who gleaned a fourth League win in Salthill.

That this victory was achieved in such convincing fashion was a surprise as Roscommon required a positive outcome to ease their relegation worries.

It means that Roscommon must now beat Kerry next weekend and hope for favourable results elsewhere to avoid the drop.

While Galway manufactured chances throughout the opening period it wasn’t until near the interval that they made their superiority truly count.

Two minutes before the interval Galway’s advantage was 0-9 to 0-7, but Kevin Walsh’s charges finished the opening period strongly.

An opportunistic Danny Cummins goal following a clever move involving Antaine O’Laoi, Gary O’Donnell, Tom Flynn, and John Daly edged Galway five clear.

Further points from two Shane Walsh frees ensured Galway, who had been backed by the breeze, departed with a 1-11 to 0-7 cushion.

Galway’s 1-11 came from 22 shots during a first half in which O’Laoi’s promise was evident as the An Spideal clubman clipped two splendid points from play.

Another Galway footballer flaring to prominence during the spring is John Daly, who thundered forward to nail a fine effort seconds after the restart.

Walsh rifled over a free for Galway, who were nine points ahead, but a Roscommon rally trimmed the deficit.

A Colm Lavin free was followed by a goal from a Conor Cox penalty meaning the gap was down to five in the 46th minute.

Galway, though, refused to be perturbed as points from O’Laoi (two frees) and O’Donnell pushed the maroon outfit into comfortable territory. There was no sign of any panic late on as Galway prevailed.

Scorers for Galway: Danny Cummins 1-2, Antaine O’Laoi (2fs) and Shane Walsh (3fs) 0-4 each, Gary O’Donnell 0-2, John Daly, Gareth Bradshaw, Ciaran Duggan, Cein D’Arcy, and Michael Daly 0-1 each.

Scorers for Roscommon: Conor Cox 1-4 (1-0 pen, 1f, 1m), Conor Daly, Enda Smith, Cathal Cregg, Tadhg O’Rourke, Colm Lavin (45), and Donie Smith (f) 0-1 each.

GALWAY: Ruairi Lavelle; Eoghan Kerin, Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh, David Wynne; Gary O’Donnell, John Daly, Gareth Bradshaw; Tom Flynn, Ciaran Duggan; Johnny Heaney, Michael Daly, Peter Cooke; Antaine O’Laoi, Shane Walsh, Danny Cummins.

Subs: Sean Kelly for O’Donnell (58), Finnian O’Laoi for Cummins (68), Padraic Cunningham for Walsh (70), Cein D’Arcy for Flynn (70+2).

ROSCOMMON: Colm Lavin; David Murray, Conor Daly, Gary Patterson; Ronan Daly, Niall Daly, Conor Devaney; Tadhg O’Rourke, Shane Killoran; Niall Kilroy, Cathal Cregg, Enda Smith; Donie Smith, Ciaran Lennon, Conor Cox.

Subs: Ultan Harney for E Smith (HT), Sean Mullolly for R Daly (HT), Aonghus Lyons for D Smith (50), Colin Compton for Cregg (56), Hubert Darcy for Kilroy (63).

REFEREE: Conor Lane (Cork).




Latest Tweets

RT @CoachingGalway: Hurling workshop 🏑🏑 📍Castlegar GAA Arena 🗓️Wednesdy Nov 20th ⌚️7.30pm Cost: Zero Child Nursery Programme & Youth G…
The countdown is on to the @AIB_GAA @ConnachtGAA Club Senior Football Championship final next Sunday. Calling on al…
RT @brendans_gaa: 🏆@Galway_GAA U20 CHAMPIONSHIP (NORTH) Semi Final: St.Brendan’s🇧🇼 vs Tuam Stars🇦🇹 📆Date: Saturday 23rd November 2019 📍V…
RT @brendans_gaa: This weeks Newspaper Club Notes:
RT @CoachingGalway: The kids in Tuairini NS were out early today playing hurling games and learning skills with Gerry Spelman…