By Cian O'Connell

Galway manager Padraic Joyce isn't overly concerned about the fact that his team haven't played a Championship game ahead of Sunday's Connacht decider against Mayo at Pearse Stadium.

Since the Allianz Football League concluded Mayo have enjoyed two wins over Leitrim and Roscommon, while Galway were afforded a walkover due to a number of Covid cases in the Sligo camp.

Joyce doesn't feel Galway are at a major disadvantage. "Not really, it is what it is at this stage," Joyce says.

"If we were playing a normal Championship, we’d have a two or three week break between games anyway and the last two games we had were very competitive for us.

"So we are either going to be tired or fresh. If we win the game on Sunday, you are a fresher team and if you lose it you didn’t get to do the preparation, so there’s always going to be an excuse.

"They've got plenty of games so I wouldn’t say that’s an advantage or disadvantage; it’s all on the day."

The Killererin clubman discussed the situation with Sligo boss Paul Taylor.

“It’s out of our control, unfortunately there was nothing we could do about it," Joyce remarks about the Sligo game being postponed.

"We were ready to play the match, and it’s unfortunate what happened to them.

"I spoke to Paul Taylor and understand the reasons why he couldn’t field a team, so it was tough for them unfortunately.

"Unfortunately there was nothing we could do about it, we were available to play and the game would have benefited definitely, but it didn’t happen so we just get on with it."

“It’s hugely disappointing for everybody involved but we’re living in unprecedented times. We’ve been in contact with Sligo GAA over the last two days and would like to wish them all the very best. The Galway Senior Football team will continue with their training this week with all their focus now on the Connacht SF Final on Sunday week. Galway GAA will be making no further comment on this matter,” 
Pat Kearney, Chairperson, Galway GAA.


Allianz Football League Division One


By Cian O'Connell at Pearse Stadium

Following Kerry's victory on Saturday the stakes weren't exactly piled high in Salthill, but Dublin had sufficient guile to eke out a win in the west.

Prompted by second half goals from lively substitute Sean Bugler and Con O'Callaghan, Desie Farrell's charges finished with a flourish.

Galway had edged 0-12 to 0-8 in front by the 47th minute, but Dublin dictated the agenda from then until the finish.

Bugler slammed a 50th minute major and though Galway remained competitive, Dublin added a second deep into additional time when O'Callaghan netted.

The opening period belonged to the splendid long range shooting of Paul Conroy, who filched six points for the home team.

St James' clubman Conroy, backed by the elements, illustrated his kicking ability from distance for Galway, who were anxious to respond following the hugely disappointing defeat to Mayo.

That meant Galway were disciplined defensively and when they broke Conroy clipped a couple of nice efforts from play.

Dublin, though, enjoyed some productive moments also with Paddy Small landing two sweet scores, while Ciaran Kilkenny supplied glimpses of his enduring excellence.

Ultmately when refereee David Coldrick blasted the half-time whistle Galway had nailed 0-9 from 13 attempts, an efficient Dublin struck 0-7 from nine.

When the action recommenced Dean Rock clipped a free before Galway struck three on the spin courtesy of substitute Shane Walsh, Gary O'Donnell, and Conroy.

Dublin responded with a burst of their own with 1-4 without reply including Bugler's goal.

There was little wrong with Galway's attitude and application, but Dublin, guided by Paddy Small's clever touches in attack, stayed in the lead.

Galway had the gap down to two in the dying embers, but O'Callaghan fired a goal after his initial attempt had hit the crossbar.

Within seconds the crafty Cuala attacker claimed a mark and pointed ensuring Dublin left the banks of the Corrib armed with the spoils.

Westmeath in the Leinster SFC is Dublin's next assignment on November 7. Galway face Sligo in Connacht on the same day. Much more will be on the line in those particular tussles.

Scorers for Dublin: Dean Rock 0-6 (4fs), Con O'Callaghan 1-2 (1m), Sean Bugler 1-1, Paddy Small 0-4, Ciaran Kilkenny 0-2.

Scorers for Galway: Paul Conroy 0-8 (6fs), Robert Finnerty 0-2 (1f), Jason Leonard, Gary O'Donnell, Liam Silke, Shane Walsh, and Adrian Varley (m) 0-1 each.

DUBLIN: Stephen Cluxton; Cian Murphy, David Byrne, Michael Fitzsimons; Eoin Murchan, John Small, Robbie McDaid; Brian Fenton, James McCarthy; Brian Howard, Ciaran Kilkenny, Eric Lowndes; Paddy Small, Con O’Callaghan, Dean Rock.

Subs: Sean Bugler for Lowndes (HT), Cormac Costello for McCarthy (47), Tom Lahiff for Howard (62), Kevin McManamon for P Small (67), Philly McMahon for Murphy (69).

GALWAY: Bernard Power; Seán Ó Maolchiaráin, Seán Kelly, James Foley; Liam Silke, Gary O’Donnell, Johnny Heaney; Céin D’Arcy, Tom Flynn; Paul Kelly, Paul Conroy, Jason Leonard; Robert Finnerty, Adrian Varley, Ian Burke.  

Subs: Maitias O Baireid for Flynn (31), Shane Walsh for Burke (HT), Gary Sice for Finnerty (HT), Cillian McDaid for O'Donnell (54), Gareth Bradshaw for P Kelly (59).

REFEREE: David Coldrick (Meath).

Web Dublin

The Galway Senior Football team to play Dublin in the Allianz League this Sunday, October 25th is as follows:

1. Bernard Power 
2. Sean Kelly
3. Seán Mulkerrin 
4. James Foley 
5. Liam Silke 
6. Gary O’Donnell 
7. Johnny Heaney (C) 
8. Cein D’Arcy 
9. Tom Flynn
10. Paul Kelly
11. Paul Conroy
12. Jason Leonard 
13. Robert Finnerty
14. Adrian Varley
15. Ian Burke
Digital Match Programme available here

Page 1 of 15

Latest Tweets

RT @CLGCarnaCaiseal: Seol do litir chuig Santaí chomh luath agus is féidir. #Gaeltacht 🎅 🎁 💛 🏐 👍 Litir chuig Santaí, f/ch @tuismitheoiri…
RT @CoachingGalway: Well done to the kids in Claregalway NS out enjoying their #GAA session today as part of our @Galway_GAA schools progra…
RT @GAAlearning: HURLING - FROM THE CRADLE TO CROKER Check out the resource here:
RT @officialgaa: Shane O’Neill is busy getting @Galway_GAA ready to face his native @LimerickCLG #GAA
RT @oconnc62: At a press briefing Shane O’Neill confirmed that @Galway_GAA have no injury concerns ahead of Sunday’s All Ireland SHC semi-f…