Galway girls Christina Hanley (Carnmore), Sorcha Ní Fhrighil (Cois Farraigge), Evie Hayes (Salthill) and Sinead Treacy (Kilconieron) celebrating NUIG'S great victory over Limerick IT in the Purcell Cup Final at  Duggan Park Ballinasloe. Photo: Mike O'Hehir


Galway secure Allianz Hurling League Quarter-Final place with ease at Pearse Stadium READ MORE
Cathal Mannion of Galway in action against Ben Conneely of Offaly during the Allianz Hurling League Division 1B Round 3 match between Galway and Offaly at Pearse Stadium. Photo by Matt Browne/Sportsfile


Corofin wil play in the AIB All-Ireland Senior Football Club Championship Final - Read More

Roscommon win their fourth Connacht FBD Football League title by a single point at the expense of the Tribesmen READ MORE


Camogie - An inexperienced Galway line-up claimed their first triumph of the season under new manager Tony O’Donovan, building on being level at the break 0-6 apiece to pull clear after the resumption and overcome Tipperary on a 2-14 to 1-10 scoreline.


The Nominations have been announced for the Galway County GAA Board for 2018. There will be elections for the position of Vice Chairman, Assistant Secretary, Treasurer and Development officer. The elections will take place on the 11th of December in the Lough Rea Hotel and Spa.

Going for the post of Vice Chairman will be Kenneth Fox of Moycullen, Kevin Clancy of Oughterard, Mary Judge of Caherlistrane and Michael Larkin of Craughwell. The Assistant Secretary vote will be between two people, Mary Judge of Caherlistrane and Seamus O’Grady of Monivea/Abbey, The position of treasurer will be filled by either John McGann of Ardrahan, Michael Burke of Kinvara or Kenneth Fox of Moycullen and Finally, the position of Development Officer will be between two Corofin men in Tommy Kelly or Michael Ryder. All other positions have only one nomination in each post.



CATHAOIRLEACH: Pat Kearney (Kilbeacanty) 

LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH: Kenneth Fox (Moycullen) Kevin Clancy (Oughterard Mary Judge (Caherlistrane) Michael Larkin (Craughwell)

RUNAÍ: John Hynes (Liam Mellows)

RUNAÍ CÚNTA: Mary Judge (Caherlistrane) Seamus O’ Grady (Monivea Abbey)

CISTEOIR: John Mc Gann (Ardrahan) Michael Burke (Kinvara) Kenneth Fox (Moycullen)

CISTEOIR CÚNTA: Seamus Connolly (Kilconly)

OIFIGEACH FORBARTHA: Tommy Kelly (Corofin) Michael Ryder (Corofin)

OIFIGEACH GAEILGE: Michael Monaghan (Turloughmore)

OIFIGEACH OILIÚNA: Micheal Geraghty (Tuam Stars)

P.R.O: Seamus Finnerty (Annaghdown)

COMHAIRLE CHONNACHT (1): John Joe Holleran (Naomh Padraig, Clonbur)

COMHAIRLE CHONNACHT (2) Noel Treacy (Padraig Pearses)

ÁRD CHOMHAIRLE: Gerry Larkin (Tynagh-Abbey/Duniry)