Galway & GAA Videos



Pieta House Fundraiser at Galway Hurling Games
The ‘Charity Chariot’ – the maroon and white clad BMW that will attend every one of Galway hurlers’ competitive fixtures throughout 2017 to raise money for Pieta House. Charioteers with main car sponsors Padraic and Breda Cawley. The Charity Chariot will be officially launched at Cawley's Bar this Saturday evening. Back row: Breda Cawley, Damien Ryan, Rory Moynihan, Eamon Gilligan, Noel Kelly, Cian Larkin, Padraic Cawley. Front row: Caoimhe Moynihan, Daniel Harty, Aoibhinn Moynihan, Keelan Harty and Keeva Ryan.


Frank Burke for GAA President




Galway footballers Damien Comer, Seán Denvir, Danny Cummins, Declan Kyne and David Wynne with Supermac's Úna McDonagh at the launch of the Supermac's Sponsorship of Galway GAA for 2017. Supermac's sponsors Galway football, hurling, camogie and ladies football at all inter-county levels. 


Presentation College Athenry Junior A  team that defeated St Brigids Loughrea  3-9 to 1-4 in the Connacht PPS Junior Final played in Ballindereen.
Back Row: (left to right) Fiona Page (manager), Caoimhe Allen, Tara Stephens, 
Sarah McCartin, Lauren Butler, Katie Diviney, Saoirse Gilligan, Sandra
Greaney, Hannah Finn, Kaci Moran, Lisa Coleman, Kate Moran. Middle Row: (left to right) Katelyn Tuffy, Zoe Gilligan, Anna Howley, Eimear Tully, Aisling Sheehan, Claire Callanan, Sarah Ryan, Nicola Harte, Sinéad Coleman, Róisín Joyce. Front Row: (left to right) Claire Forde, Aoife Raftery, Rachael Tuffy, Caoilfhinn Hennessy, Leah Burke (captain), Leah Crotty, Laura Kelly, Niamh Niland, Nessa Kelly and Anna Kilduff.

Galway’s push for immediate promotion back to the top flight is up and running after easing their way to a 26 points win over Offaly in Tullamore.
Kevin Ryan’s men needed a good start with the strong wind behind them, but Jason Flynn hit 1-2 for the Tribesmen in the first six minutes.
That helped Galway pulled away and by half-time they led by 4-9 to 1-8 with wind advantage to come.
Offaly did not manage to score from play in the second-half against the wind and Shane Dooley was their only scorer after the restart, landing four frees.
Galway were able to pick off scores from all angles and by the end nine of them were on the scoresheet as they got their campaign off to a great start.
Sean Cleary got Offaly moving after seven minutes and Sean Ryan, Shane Dooley and Cillian Kiely also found the range to give them hope.
But Micheal Donoghue’s men looked threatening every time they went forward, constantly opening up the home rearguard.
Conor Whelan soloed in from the right for a goal after 18 minutes, before Cleary responded with a good strike to the net for Offaly.
But Flynn, who amassed a tally of 2-7 by half-time, burst through for his second goal of the match as Galway pulled away.

A couple of frees from Dooley gave them some hope, but Galway stepped up a few gears again and captain David Burke blasted home their fourth goal to lead by ten points at the interval.

It was all one way traffic after the restart with Offaly’s cause suffering a further blow when interval substitute Dermott Shortt picked up two yellow cards in less than 10 minutes.

Galway outscored Offaly by six points to two in the opening 13 minutes of the second-half before Whelan blasted home his second goal of the match after being set up by Conor Cooney.
Cooney himself scored 0-5 in the second-half, four of them from play to add to an effort in the opening half as the St Thomas clubman enjoyed his first run of the year with the county team.
Brian Molloy got Galway’s sixth goal after 54 minutes and continued to pull further ahead with a succession of points as they got their campaign up and running.
Scorers for Galway: J Flynn 2-10 (0-8fs), C Whelan 2-0, C Cooney 0-6 (0-1f), D Burke 1-1, B Molloy 1-0, J Cooney 0-3, A Tuohy 0-1, N Burke 0-1, J Coen 0-1.
Scorers for Offaly: S Dooley 0-8 (0-8f), S Cleary 1-1, C Kiely 0-2, S Ryan 0-1.
GALWAY: Colm Callanan; Matthew Donohoe; John Hanbury, Paul Killeen; Aidan Harte, Adrian Tuohy, Gerry McInerney; Johnny Coen, David Burke; Davy Glennon, Joseph Cooney, Paul Flaherty; Conor Whelan, Jason Flynn, Conor Cooney.
Subs: Brian Molloy for Flaherty (28), Shane Maloney for Whelan (51), Michael Conneely for Harte (51), Niall Burke for Glennon (51), Tomas Monaghan for Flynn (60).
OFFALY: James Dempsey; Paddy Rigney, Michael Cleary, Danny Maloney; Aidan Treacy, Conor Doughan, Ben Conneely; Paddy Murphy, Cillian Kiely; Shane Dooley, Sean Gardiner, Emmett Nolan; Sean Ryan, Oisin Kelly, Sean Cleary.
Subs: Pat Camon for Maloney (36), Dermot Shortt for Rigney (36), James Mulrooney for Nolan (36), Peter Geraghty for Kelly (54), Tom Carroll for Cleary (59).
Referee: C Lyons (Cork).