Monthly Archive


Archive December 2013

Football Presentation Night All-Ireland U-21 Medals Presentation 2013 This years victorious Galway All-Ireland Under-21 Football Team were presented with their Connacht & All-Ireland Medals, by GAA President Liam O’Neill and Frank Burke, President of the Connacht Council, at a Gala Function in the Claregalway Hotel on Sunday December 29th. Over three hundred guests attende read more..

Archive November 2013

Award for larry Lohan This year’s Coiste Peil na nÓg Bertie Coleman Memorial Cup was presented to Larry Lohan Secretary (Coiste Peil na nÓg). At the presentation function were P. J. Rabbitte (Chairman (Coiste Peil na nÓg) Damien O’Keeffe and Tommy Kelly President (Coiste Peil na nÓg) Claregalway win Juvenile Football Award This year’s Coiste Peil na nÓg Club of the read more..

Archive October 2013

    Sarsfields win County Junior C Football Final Sarsfields Eamon Cleary presented with the cup by Tadgh O Conghaile Sarsfields 0-13 Oileán Árainn 2-4 (By Seamus Finnerty) Sarsfields, better known for their hurling exploits, are one of Galway’s newest football clubs and they have wasted no time in making their mark at the big ball game. In the Junior C read more..

Archive September 2013

  Galway 1956 Captain Jack Mangan dies in England The great Jack Mangan who died in England led Galway to All-Ireland  senior football sucess over Cork in 1956;  aged 86 he was born in Bishop Street, Tuam on May 6th 1927 and was a influential figure  in Tuam Stars seven in a row county titles. His funeral took place following Requiem Mass at St. Jose read more..

Archive August 2013

  Disappointing Galway Under 21's surrender to Clare Clare 1-16 Galway 0-7Clare defeated Galway by 12 points in the Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland Under 21 Hurling Championship semi-final at Semple Stadium Thurles.Clare had little trouble overcoming a disappointing Galway side, playing in the U21 championship for the first time this summer.T read more..

Archive July 2013

  Coiste Peil na nÓg Presentations P.J. Rabbitte (Coiste Peil na nOg) presenting the Shield to Conor Flanagan (Captain, Kilkerrin/Clonberne) P.J. Rabbitte (Coiste Peil na nOg) presenting the cup to Jack Ward (Captain, Tuam Stars) Coiste Peil na nÓg Under 14 Presentations P.J. Rabbitte (Coiste Peil na nOg) presenting the cup to Matthew Kilgannon (Captain, read more..

Archive June 2013

  Coiste Peil na nÓg Presentations Paul Collins (Wers Waste) presenting the cup to Damien Sharry (Captain, Oranmore Maree).  Also pictured is PJ Rabbitte (Coiste Peil na nOg) Juvenile Football Winners Michael O'Brien (Captain, Headford) accepting the Under 14 North Shield from Tommy Kelly (Coiste Peil na nOg) Coiste Peil na nÓg Presentati read more..

Archive May 2013

  Coiste Peil na nÓg Presentations Mairead Kelly presenting the Dandy Kelly Cup to Claregalway Captain Matthew Kilgannon.  Also pictured is Larry Lohan (Coiste Peil na nOg) Coiste Peil na nÓg North Under 14 Presentations Conor Fahy (Captain, Mountbellew/Moylough) being presented with the shield by Padraig Coyne (Coiste Pe read more..

Archive April 2013

  Galway in All-Ireland Under 21 Final Galway 2-10 Kildare 2-5 Galway will meet Cork in the Cadbury's All-Ireland Final after a five point win over Kildare in Tullamore 2-10 to 2-5. The winners produced a slick display of open attacking football with a tight defence that frustrated Kildare who shot 19 wides overall. Shane Walsh opened the s read more..

Archive March 2013

  North Football Title winners Bobby Mullins (Vice Chairman, Coiste Peil na nOg) presenting the Under 13 Division 1 North Shield to Sean King (Captain, Monivea Abbey) P.J. Rabbitte (Chairman, Coiste Peil na nOg) presenting the cup for the Under 13 Division 2 North League Final to MacDara Geraghty (Captain) Glenemaddy Larry Larkin (Se read more..

Archive February 2013

Win against Kilkenny a perfect start to League for Galway Galway 3-11 Kilkenny 0-17 (By: Sean Walsh - Galway Bay FM) Galway opened their NHL account with victory over the reigning NHL and All-Ireland Champions in their Allianz Hurling League Division 1A opener at Pearse Stadium. After clashing on five occasions in 2012, the two sides went toe to toe again before the Tr read more..

Archive January 2013

   Galway Sports Star Awards for Hurling At the Galway Sports Award Banquet were Tex Callanan, Mattie Kenny, John McGann, Anthony Cunningham (Manager of the year) Tom Helebert, Joe Byrne, David Burke (Hurler of the year) John Fahey and Pat Kearney. Galway recall former captain and players Former Galway captain Shane Kavanagh, Aonghus Callanan an read more..

Results 1 - 12 of 12